August 3, 2023

Understanding Nurse Compact States: Advantages of the Nursing Compact License

Nurse compact states map 2023.

The nursing profession plays a critical role in providing quality healthcare services, and nurses are in high demand across the United States. The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) was established to facilitate mobility and ensure the availability of qualified nurses across the nation. This blog will explain nurse compact states, also known as nursing compact states or compact license states.

Explore the article:

Understanding nurse compact states

Nurse compact states are those that have adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), an agreement among participating states that allows nurses to practice across state lines without obtaining additional licenses. Nurses with a compact license can work in these  states, gaining flexibility and access to job opportunities in multiple locations.

The NLC was created to address the challenges faced by nurses who wished to practice in multiple states. Prior to its implementation, nurses had to obtain separate licenses for each state they wanted to work in, which is time-consuming and cumbersome. The compact license streamlines the process, making it easier for nurses to practice in multiple states while maintaining high standards of care.

Benefits of nurse compact states

Enhanced mobility

One of the primary advantages of nurse compact states is the increased mobility it offers to nurses. With a compact license, nurses can easily cross state borders to practice in other participating states without having to go through the lengthy process of obtaining a new license. This facilitates opportunities for travel nursing, temporary assignments, and relocation, providing greater professional and personal flexibility.

Improved patient care

The nursing compact license allows healthcare professionals to work in different states. This is especially useful during emergencies and at times when there is an increased need in specific areas and facilities. Allowing nurses to work in multiple states  helps solve staffing issues and ensures facilities can provide patients with timely care. This flexibility contributes to the overall quality of patient care, benefiting both healthcare providers and those seeking medical assistance.

Streamlined licensing process

Obtaining a compact license is relatively straightforward for eligible nurses. Applicants must meet specific criteria, such as holding an active license in their primary state of residence, meeting educational requirements, and passing a criminal background check.

Nurses who are approved receive a compact license. This license allows them to work in any other state within the compact state agreement without requiring additional licenses or paying extra fees. This streamlined process saves time, effort, and resources for nurses while maintaining the integrity and consistency of nursing practice.

Cost savings

For nurses who wish to work in multiple states, the compact license offers significant cost savings. Only needing one license to practice in multiple states reduces the financial burden and the administrative complexities associated with managing multiple licenses, benefiting both individual nurses and healthcare organizations.

What states are compact?

Currently, there are 36 states that accept compact licenses and more are in legislation. 

Nursing compact states include:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

States with pending NCL legislation include:

Alaska, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, Oregon, and Rhode Island.

States with NLC enacted, but awaiting implementation include:

Pennsylvania and Washington.

Still, some states like Massachusetts, Michigan, and California are not part of the NLC.

The future of nurse compact states in the US

Nurse compact states, established through the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), have changed the nursing profession by promoting mobility, enhancing patient care, and streamlining the licensing process. The compact license enables nurses to practice in multiple states without the need for additional licenses, making it easier for them to pursue diverse career opportunities and respond to changing healthcare demands.

As the demand for nurses continues to grow, nurse compact states play a vital role in ensuring a highly skilled and accessible nursing workforce across the United States. By embracing the benefits of the NLC, nurses and healthcare organizations can collaborate more effectively, ultimately leading to improved patient outcomes and a stronger healthcare system overall.

Ready to apply for a multi-state license? Read more on how to apply for a compact state nursing license.

Looking for more flexibility in your nursing career?

Learn how CareRev works